Rule Clarification on SG1a

So you know SG1a, which is the following:

Here’s the strange part though, it specifically says “Contacting at least one (1) of the gray foam field tiles…” but there’s “at least” in it.

Adding to more of it, there were some teams that started on TWO tiles instead of one tile, which contradicts this statement, yet they weren’t reminded about it. Is there something I am missing?

Two is more than one, so they are touching at least one tile. It does not say “at most” or “exactly” one tile