Scoring Question

Are these orange scored as 3 points even with the blue objects in the score zone?

1658360603821b6557451203467be036.jpg

Aloha,
As far as I know Blue can only score of the Blue side and Orange on the Orange side. Also only one object per slot is allowed. I hope that helps.

​-BAILEY

I’m inclined to say it would count but I’d wait for an official response. To add to this, what if both were orange? would the one hanging out of the goal still count as being scored in the one point zone?

“Note 1: If a Hexball is Scored both in the Scoring Zone and a Goal, it will only count as Scored in the Goal. (i.e. A Hexball cannot earn points in both the Scoring Zone and a Goal)”

Aloha,
Yes definitely. An official answer on this early in the new season will definitely help all of our teams. Jamessalvant could you please post your question to the official ruling thread? It will definitely help out all of our teams.

​​-BAILEY

Along the same line of questioning: How should this be scored? (Clarification: The right most hexball and the one just to its left are both partially within the volume of both of the low goals they are near)

The strictest reading of the “Scored” definition (Note 1: If a *Hexball *is *Scored *both in the *Scoring Zone *and a Goal, it will only count as *Scored *in the Goal. & Note 2: No more than one (1) Hexball will be considered Scored in each Goal.): There are 2 hexballs in low goals, because the far right hexball is closer to the second goal, so it doesn’t count in the outermost goal (6 points) and 2 more hexballs also in those 2 goals also which do not count (0 points) = 6 points

It could be said; same as above but with the 2 hexballs that are in goals already occupied are scored as in the Scoring Zone for 1 point each = 8 points

It could be said that 3 hexballs in 3 goals and due to (Note 1 & 2) no points for the 1 in a occupied goal =** 9 points**

The most generous scoring would say highest possible way of counting: 3 hexballs in 3 different low goals (9 points) + 1 hexball on the floor (1 point) = 10 points

So which is it: 6, 8, 9, or 10 points?

9db5f8fcbe88c90fe26a65b5401d8f97.png

Aloha Paul,
Based on my understanding of the rules (referring to page 7 “Scored section”)

  1. Only 2 Hex Balls will be scored in the low goal. The ball straddling both floor goals will only count toward one floor goal as per Note 3(Hex balls cannot earn points in more than one goal.)
  2. For the two Hex balls partially in goals, one will be counted in the floor goal and one will not count.

Final score:
(1) Scoring Zone = 1 point
(2) Floor Goal = 6 pts
​Total = 7 pts

Bailey,

There is not an official Q&A for crossover that I could find…

If there is a moderator reading this could you please start an official Crossover thread… Thanks!

Aloha James,
Yup. I didn’t notice an official thread yet. I hope it pops up soon.

My interpretation would be 10 points (3 low goals + 1 in the floor goal).

The important thing for me is that the notes include comments in parentheses starting with “ie”, which means they are clarifying the intention of the rule. Taking these into account I get 10 points.

It should also be noted that the philosophy of the IQ Challenge is completely different that that of VRC. The rules in IQ tend to be permissive rather than prohibitive.

I would tend to say yes.
It’s not possible for the blue hexball to be scored in its own goal, and the rules only prohibit multiple hexballs being *scored *in the same goal.
The blue hexballs don’t even factor into the equation.

I think Ben_Ellery is 100% correct. Only the orange hexballs would count.

I looked at it again. I would say this second picture is worth 10 pts. Assuming this is the orange side of the field. If it is the blue side. Oh well. zero points.

score? 4 in the top goals… 2 in the medium… 2 open slots in the medium… is this 30?

8221ccb656db72153f6cdaddee5736f5.jpg

Jamessalvant,

From the VIQC-2016-2017-Crossover-Game-Manual-04142016.pdf:

Scored – A Hexball is Scored if it is not touching a Robot and meets one of the following criteria.

  1. The Hexball is contacting the Floor within the Scoring Zone of the same color.
  2. The Hexball is not being contacted by a Robot and is partially within the three dimensional volume of the Goal of the same color.
    Note 1: If a Hexball is Scored both in the Scoring Zone and a Goal, it will only count as Scored in the Goal. (i.e. A Hexball cannot earn points in both the Scoring Zone and a Goal)
    **Note 2: No more than one (1) Hexball will be considered Scored in each Goal. (i.e. You cannot earn points for multiple Hexballs in a single Goal) **
    Note 3: If a Hexball is Scored in multiple Goals, it will only count as Scored in the highest point value Goal it is Scored in. (i.e. A Hexball cannot earn points in more than one Goal)

Note 2 explains that only 1 Hexball per goal will be counted.

Bailey,

My initial though was it would be 6 points. One in the 3 point goal and the other 3 are clearly in the 1 point zone.** (3+3=6) **

You can only have one scored hexball per goal.

Upon closer inspection, There is one that is 100% in the 3 point goal, two that are breaking the plane of the same goal, one breaking the plane of a different 3 point goal.
The correct revised answer would be 2 scored in 3 point goals and 2 in the field for 1 point each (6+2=8)

:wink: this looks to be an interesting season ahead…

Tony

OK, no more than one per goal… got that… how about the ball in the top left goal that is hanging over? Would it be considered scored in multiple goals? The upper elevated goal and the lower elevated goal on the left side since this goal is not bounded by a top plate and in theory the side planes of the goal extend upwards and therefor considered scored by not touching the robot and partially within the 3-d volume of the lower elevated goal.

8221ccb656db72153f6cdaddee5736f5.jpg

I can see that being a source of arguments this season… If I were scoring this even after it has already been made clear that no more than one hex ball per goal, since it is not touching the lower 5 point goal it would not be counted. This one needs to be directed at the GDC to get an official answer.

But not touching the goal floor I would read that as not intended to be scored in the lower of the two goals. If in the driver meeting it was explained to the drivers that there is only one hex ball scored per goal, and the lower 5 point goal is empty, since the ball breaks the plane of the lower 5 point goal then I could see the argument and possibly awarding 5 points for that hexball.

Only issue here is if the teams are doing this to try to sneak an extra 5 point goal they will be out of luck. They will end up wasting hexballs that could be scored in 3 point goals on over applying to the 5 point goals. As team mentors we should do our best to encourage the least subjective scoring method by directing students to place only one hexball in each goal and discourage the high goals as being a “pile up” style scoring. They will end up losing points by over populating high goals and get 0 points when they could get 1 or 3 points for that hexball.

I believe the intention of the “Breaking the plane” scoring applies mainly to the 3 point goal anyways. Since the hexball has to be on the field to score in that goal if any part of the hexball breaks the plane of the 3 point goal even though the rest of the hexball is in the one point scoring zone you have the opportunity to grant the extra two points. based on your photo… My first reaction would be to score that as 23. Using breaking the plane scoring it could be 28. If the top 5 point goal was not over populated though it could have been 33 points.

60 seconds divided by two drivers goes fast…

Tony

Aloha,
In regards to your recent picture James…

2 in Top = 10 pts ( only two count)
2 in the Middle = 10 points
…and I only see one in the slot on the floor so that is 3 points

Total score = 23 points

Bailey,

I take it you are seeing the overhanging hexball as not intentionally scored in the lower 5 point goal?

I totally agree with your assessment of 23 points. That was my initial reaction as well. The only reason I suggested the “Breaking the plane” scoring is because in the Game Manual it dictates under Scored:

Scored – A Hexball is Scored if it is not touching a Robot and meets one of the following criteria.
1. The Hexball is contacting the Floor within the Scoring Zone of the same color.
2. The Hexball is not being contacted by a Robot and is partially within the three dimensional volume of the Goal of the same color.

#2 Shows why I think we can see some arguments over scoring. The wording “not being contacted by a Robot and is partially within the three dimensional volume of the Goal of the same color.” would indicate since it breaks the plane of the lower 5 point goal the extra hexball on the top left could bring the score to 28 points.

Or do you see it as the upper 5 point goal limits the lower 5 point goals all to the same height?

In previous years the wording of the rules clearly stated when the scoring zone extended infinitely upwards, there is no mention of it this year. And it only mentions the height of the goal when it’s referring to the ones that are bound at the top by plates. Some clarification needs to be made, the current wording is unclear.