By rule Robots may technically contact an opposing Robot that only partially contacting protected area, but in the process cannot contact protected tiles or interfere (directly or indirectly) with the Skyrise or Skyrise Building process. So, yes contact outside this zone is legal, BUT you subject yourself to increased scrutiny in the process in given this scenario.
Moral of the story, stay away from your opponent when they’re Building a Skryise.
Could you please clarify this a little more. If a robot is obviously going for a skyrise or has a skyrise in its intake, but reverses a little off the colored tile to raise the arm or turn in an effort to score, and an opposing robot pushes it so that it cannot score, this would count as interfering with the Skyrise Building process and therefore be illegal, right? Thank you.
Jokai, just be aware your posting is in an unofficial part of the forum. Common folk, like myself, might make comments here, but I don’t know if you will get an official answer to your question unless it’s in the same forum in which my question was originally posted.
I am, however, very interested to hear what the masses have to say about this.
When people post questions to the official question+answer forum, the forum only allows the original poster and the officials to respond - I’m not sure why - I guess to keep the conversation from becoming confusing.
Personally, it sounds to me like the officials are urging teams not to interfere with SkyRise building no matter what. But it also sounds to me like they want to leave the referees with a little “wiggle room” in the event an opposing team happens to have some exotic technology (tethered robot, for example) that might sprawl across the field or hog up huge amounts of space and then try to use SG9 as a kind of loophole to protect themselves. But that’s just my personal interpretation of Karthik’s answer.
I would be happy to post your request for clarification onto my own post if you feel that is necessary, but perhaps you can go into more detail about what concerns you and then post your own detailed question in a new thread on that official forum. Perhaps there is a specific scenario you have in mind and it would help us all to hear the official response.
Either way, I’m happy to oblige. Just let me know if you still want me to post your request for more info.
Thanks FullMetalMentor. I reread SG9 - Robots may not interfere with an opposing Alliance’s Building of Skyrise Sections in any way. And Karthik’s response - By rule Robots may technically contact an opposing Robot thats only partially contacting protected area, but in the process cannot contact protected tiles or interfere (directly or indirectly) with the Skyrise or Skyrise Building process. seems pretty clear. Just wanted a clarification as my students’ opponent kept ramming into their robot while they were building the Skyrise this past weekend and the ruling was not clear with the ref. Glad you made the thread.