Skills Field connection

Does the skills field at a tournament have to be connected to the main computer running the tournament? And if so, should this be hard wired with a cat 5 cable? Also, what’s the distance of cable recommended not to exceed?
Thanks

I’ve moved this thread out of the Q&A, since it’s not a rules question. However, I can still provide some insight.

Some events do network their skills field into their main tournament, other do not. The advantage to having it all networked is that it allows you to simply maintain all tournament scores in one database, that can be uploaded to RobotEvents after the event, and also allows for full live publishing of scores on the web. If you don’t have them networked, you will need to import your skills scores on your own. Tournament Manager is designed to allow for an easy import of skills scores in a standalone database.

Yes. Tournament Manager does not officially support wireless networking,

I’m not an expert on this, but I believe you want to keep the cables shorter than 100 feet.

It sounds like you’re running an event. If you are an Event Partner, you should check in with your local RECF rep, they’re a great asset for planning out your tournament. Also, they can give you access to the Event Partner Forums here on VEXforum.com, where you can post questions in the Tournament Manager forum, which is monitored by various TM experts.

At an event we helped at, the Skills Field was in a separate building and the schools’ network did not allow for networking the computers. Instead, we just logged the Skills scores on paper and had a runner take them to the main competition field every so often to be input.

Excellent…thanks everyone. Very helpful!1

I’ve done 300 feet of “good quality CAT5” from laptop to main computer. Any farther than that you should put a hub/switch in the path to boost the signal. CAT6 cable with the twists should easily make that distance.