Slip Gear Ratio

Hello guys, I am fairly new to VEX, I am just here to get some slip gear ratio for the VEX game.

The ratios that a robot uses for a slip gear are going to be different for each robot. If one robot has more motors on their launcher than another than they might have different ratios to power their slip gear. If a team wants a very fast pull back on their launcher than they could have a different ratio than a team that wants more power at the cost of a longer pull back. So the ratio that you use on your slip gear will vary depending on how you want use it. That’s my opinion at least. :slight_smile:

What kind of slip gear are you making and for which game? Slip gear punchers were popular in nbn but probably won’t be popular in starstruck

Are the stars light? I think you still need a form of launcher to throw the stars over efficiently. Slip gear catapults would be good to see.

In order for the slip gear launcher to be good, it needs to be two or less motors- the amount you lose by using pnuematics. A full tank of pnuematics should be able to, with proper tuning, launch stars for the duration of the match.

.6 lbs +or- 15%. So a little heavier than NBN balls, but still quite light.

That’s 5 times the weight of a ball. .6 lbs is 240 grams, compared to the 50 grams of the NBN balls. They are closer to the toss-up beach balls.

Pnuematics may not even be viable this year. Remeber that in toss up, most catapults could only fling a ball maybe 4-5 times on a single tank, and most teams had 4-6 tanks. These stars are a little heavier than those beach balls and cannot be launched as easily since they require larger platforms.

So, I am thinking of using slip gear puncher for StarStruck, similar idea as NbN, and I think it will work. The question is what gear ratio would be the fastest