Star Preload

Anybody know if your star preload is allowed to hover outside of the starting tile, over an adjacent tile? This is assuming it is still completely within the perimeters of the field.

Yes, as long as its not touching

In a recent competition the head ref told us the center of the star couldn’t be over the starting tile, even if no parts of the star were touching a gray tile, and we were forced to adjust our preload. Can anybody weigh in on the accuracy of this?

I’ve attached a very good picture to better illustrate.

I’m pretty sure the preload in the image would be legal. From the game manual:

As a human player I should know, but with Christmas break here I took time off of my studying robotics. It looks legal but I am not completely sure… look at the Q and A for official answers.