Starting off with building

Hey guys,

I have a quick question for everyone.

I have been doing VEX for two years now, and I get the basic “getting started” element of building.

But, my question is, what is the best section of the robot to start with this year?

Drive?
Intake?
Launcher?
Lift?

Thanks

In my opinion, I would start with the base. If your start with your other components of the bot, until you have a base that you can drive around, you don’t really have done any progress. Not only that, your base is the most important part considering it will be the reason that you are able to compete. Also finishing the base, so you have a basic layout allow you to make your other components fit better on the base, and also make them more modular, so that it can be fixed very easily. Hope this helps

You should build your launcher first, so that you can get a sense of how heavy your robot will be and you can get the highest gearing possible on your drive.

I’d prototype the launcher separately, since that’s the part that will score you big-time points, but when building the robot itself, I would start with the base.

I’d CAD the whole thing first. But otherwise do the base, so you can everything based on the most important thing.

Although the launcher is important, in this year’s game, a base by itself can do a lot, whereas a launcher by itself cannot.

That doesn’t mean you should only aim for a base.

It depends on your design. For example, my team is prototyping launchers before building anything else so the most effective base could depend on the catapult we are choosing. If you already have a launcher and base in mind, it might be easier to start building the base and then mount the launcher on it.