Struct explanation

Mr. Pearman you are obviously a very busy man and let me begin by thanking you for all that you do for this community.

I am experimenting with PID and TBH controllers so that I can teach my teams about them. I am using J Pearman’s code from this post https://vexforum.com/t/flywheel-velocity-control/29892/1 I am asking for conformation that my understanding is correct. I have never used structs before.

In pic one the struct is listed, in pic two is a definition that references the struct instantiated as “fw_controller”. It then uses “*fw” to be a pointer to the “fw_controller” or at least that is what I think. Then throughout the definition in pic 2 he is using the “->” operater as a short cut for assigning or calling the pointer. So what is happening is he is pointing to that inner variable of the struct and setting it equal to the things to the right in the code. For example fw-> target = velocity will make the target variable in the fw_controller = to the variable velocity. Am I correct about this?

Does leaving out the pointer and using "fw_controller.target = velocity " accomplish the same task? Is the “*fw” used as a shortcut so you don’t have to write it out each time?

The function in picture 2 accepts a struct of the type fw_controller, and then gives it a general name for use inside the function, just like when you make a function that takes an int, you give that int a name, which is then used in the function. The *fw is a pointer, and AFAIK it is necessary to pass a struct to a function. the arrow (->) instead of a period is necessary for use with a pointer.

fw_controller.target = velocity

will use a struct named fw_controller, but it doesn’t exist, so you will get an error. The *fw is the pointer name. You would use fwVelocitySet() like this:

fwVelocitySet(&flyControl, 1000, .8);