In this video, at 2:26 a clearly dominant red alliance accidentally enters the protected zone of blue alliance, without their robot ever getting close to the corner. While attempting to stack a block into the top tower, they cause a cube to bounce into Blue’s Inner Protected zone.
You cannot (intentionally or unintentionally) enter the opponents inner protected zone. Also, you cannot use a cube to do something illegal (like entering the IPZ). Therefore Blue Alliance should have won this match.
Well that’s why the words “Automatic” and “Match affecting” exist. If the condition was changed to “repeated, intentional, or match affecting” then it would give us room to play the game without having to worry about lady luck.
<SG7> does not reference possession. You are thinking of <G12d>. Nor does <SG3e> have any ambiguity that would provide a <G13> offensive/defensive ambiguity defense, nor was the red robot forced into it which would have provided a <G14> defense. <SG3e> also makes no allowance for clemency in the event that a violation is not match affecting.
@AperatureLabs Later in the video, blue also knocks over a bunch of cubes that red was trying to tip into the center tower, one or two of which roll into red’s IPZ. Was this an elimination match?
They should not have been DQ if they were. Lets take a look why though. First off lets review this rule and get it over with. Use Cubes to play the game. Cubes may not be used to accomplish actions that would be
otherwise illegal if they were attempted by Robot mechanisms. Examples include (but are not limited
• Encroaching upon an opponent’s Protected Zone per .
There goal is too stack in the center tower and they were not planning on trying to knock anything over plus there is nothing to knock over… AND no robot mechanism could reach from center to that goal. BUT, lets say the stack fell over while a robot was going to stack and it blocked its path. This could possible get them DQ because it is now match affecting. But lets get back to the subject on hand. Now that we covered this rule lets check out the next BIG one.
Stay away from your opponent’s protected areas. Robots may not intentionally or accidentally, directly or indirectly, perform the following actions:
Contact an opponent Robot which is fully contained within
their Protected Zone. Minor violations of points A, B, C,
or D that do not affect the Match
will result in a warning. Match
Affecting offenses will result in
a Disqualification. Teams that
receive multiple warnings may
also receive a Disqualification at
the Head Referee’s discretion.
Contact any Scored Cubes in either of opposing Alliance’s
Contact any Placed Cubes in the opposing Alliance Tower.
Contact either of the opposing Alliance’s Goal Zones or
Contact an opposing Alliance’s Inner Protected Zone.
Any violation of points E, F, or G
will result in a Disqualification,
whether the interaction was
Match Affecting or not.
Cause Scored Cubes within the opponent’s Protected Zone
to no longer meet the definition of Scored (i.e. “knock over
Cause a Cube which is Placed in the opposing Alliance
Tower to no longer meet the definition of Placed (i.e.
“remove it from the Alliance Tower”)
Take a moment to see the word ROBOT at the top. They did not interfere with anything in the first place and they did not prevent anything from being scored. So this is a fair game. Plus the other team also had there cubes fall in, think about it that way. SO now your saying you DQ both?? If they did interfere and prevent a cube from counting then you can DQ.
According to written rules and q&a if u have a teatherd wall and go score in your zone any robot touching the tether is dq’d, but that’s not exactly common sense. And it in of itself is a written rule so if a rule goes against common sense it goes against a written rule, either way something is overriding something
SG3 E, F, and G are written such that any violation is a DQ. This is not a mistake. Every other case of a penalty being dependent on whether or not it was match affecting (including cases A, B, C, and D of the same SG3) are called out explicitly as being dependent on such.
This is indeed complicated! I am the team who originally placed the stack which resulted cubes entering blue’s IPZ. As shown in the video, this was clearly just a funny way of scoring, and I had no intentions of breaking any rules. Funny enough, I recently submitted an official Q&A to get this very complication answered, without even knowing I may have violated anything in the first place! It will be interesting to see if this possible infraction is overruled by G3 or not. I personally think it would (and should!) because even the small, pre-placed stacks on the field can be tipped over and have the cubes roll around everywhere! There really is no way of knowing which way cubes will bounce around, that’s a part of the randomness of this game. Regardless, I’ll be MUCH more careful about this possibility of an infraction in the future, until we get an official ruling on the Q&A above.
Robots may not intentionally or accidentally, directly or indirectly, perform the following actions:
Use Cubes to play the game. Cubes may not be used to accomplish actions that would be otherwise illegal if they were attempted by Robot mechanisms. Examples include (but are not limited to):
• Encroaching upon an opponent’s Protected Zone per <SG3>.
• Interfering with an opponent’s Autonomous Period per <SG2>.
It follows that SG3E can be accidentally broken indirectly with cubes.
Wow, this is a scary rule! I’ll make sure I stress it to others for now on. I’m surprised to see such strict ruling on this, considering how randomly cubes can bounce around. You for sure won’t be seeing any more high tower shenanigans from me! I wonder how many more alliances should have been DQ’d in the past, I’ve never heard or seen this rule ever enforced in any competition.