Tips to run a programming session

We are a rookie team and our last programming session did not go well, spending a couple of hours with nothing to show for it.

We have 6 kids:

• 2 on the computer
  • 2 setting the robot at the starting position
  • 2 in the “measuring team”

The measuring team does not have much to do and get distracted easily.
Loading the program takes some times, and often we are not sure what exact changes have been made, creating chaos and frustration.

Do you guy have any suggestions on how to run a programming session and keep all kids engaged?
any tips or methods ?

thanks

Hi @MP_216 Are you using VEXcode IQ Blocks? If so, I can point you to some STEM Labs which may be helpful.

1 Like

I’m not a programming expert. I will say as a mentor/coach I’ve struggled with more than 1 student being the programmer. I’m sure there are lots of tips that the pros use to manage multiple developers on one project, but I don’t know them or how to scale them down.

What I can say is… start with having them write pseudo code in detail. This is just writing out what the robot should do in regular language, not computer code. For example
Step 1 Robot Moves forward in a straight line 12 inches
Step 2 Robot turns to the left 90°
Step 3 Robot Lifts arm to 120°
With that the code can be broken down into manageable pieces that are written and tested before moving on

If at all possible have some practices for the programmer and 1 assistant to be by themselves working on autonomous, (The same thing would be great for drivers too). Too many students with not enough to do is chaos :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

Make use of the Comments capability to put lots of notes on what each part of the code is supposed to be doing so it can be found etc.

3 Likes

Hi -