Tournament Judging Issue

I’m relatively new to the VEX program, and this is the first year our school has participated in the VEX IQ tournaments. We just participated in an event where we had a strong showing (our teams alliance came in second, and the team came in 4th in Robot Skills). We had a strong STEM project, and maxed out the score for the Engineering Notebook according to the rubric we were given back. We ended up walking away with none of the major awards for the event. However one of the event judges came to me afterwards, and told me that our team was going to be given the Excellence award, but since our team had already qualified for the state tournament elsewhere, the event organizer passed us over and gave the award to another team that had not yet qualified.

Has anyone else run into a situation like that? I know there aren’t too many options after the fact, but I’d like to know what others did if/when they were in the same situation.

Thanks for any insight you have!

This is normal. We experienced this situation before. At least you were told (nice), we found out later on… Some event partners follow the rules, some not. Just depends on how things roll. This is called spreading the wealth within the community. However, you will hear many views on this particular subject. Since you have qualified previously, keep the team spirit positive.

It’s unfair to exclude teams that have already qualified. The state tournaments are supposed to be the best of the best, and this practice degrades the quality of the state event.

Teams that have trouble qualifying at an event should try and qualify through skills scores.

Our state tournament is already filled. I’m not sure if this is the issue, but every team that qualifies because teams are excluded takes a spot from a team that could have qualified by skills. Teams that qualify through skills make a better regional event than teams that qualify by having a better team excluded.