Tower Takeover Expansion

This thread is for people to say how they are going to use the no expansion rules in Tower Takeover. Possible wallbots, maybe a lot of deploys, etc.

2 Likes

This would only be useful in auton, but a giant arm that would reach across to the tower on their half, and plop a cube in. Just a silly idea.

1 Like

Just extend a looooong scissor lift thingy (horizontal) and move backwards to move all of the cubes closer to your size. U would have to worry about the auton line tho…

This is illegal.

< SG2 > Stay on your side in Autonomous. During the Autonomous Period, Robots may not contact the foam tiles, Towers, or Cubes which are on the opposing Alliance’s side of the Autonomous Line.

1 Like

That’s only applicable if you touch the tiles past the line OR touch a cube that’s past the autonomous line. From what I can tell, putting a cube from your side of the field, going over the tiles (not driving over them), and putting them into a tower would be legal.

1 Like

wouldn’t that make the cube on their side of the auto line, making it illegal

No.

Shooting a Flag on the other side during Turning Point was Legal. Unless this wasn’t the same verbage as the old autonomous rule during Turning Point.

< SG3 > Stay on your side in Autonomous. During the Autonomous Period, Robots may not do any of the following:
.1. Contact the foam tiles on the opposing Alliance’s side of the Autonomous Line.
.2. Contact the opposing Alliance Platform.
.3. Become Center Parked.

It is different from last years season. It was also ruled illegal by the GDC to throw caps to interfere with autonomous.

After you shot the ball you’re no longer touching it, so this analogy doesn’t really apply here.

1 Like

It is legal, as long as you don’t touch anything, and drop the cube in the air instead of resting it in the tower. You can’t touch the other side, but you can overhang it.

1 Like

You just can’t contact it.

This is illegal, but not really from rules people seem to be targeting. Sure, you’re not touching the tower on the other side. But by carrying a cube over the middle line, you are touching a cube on the other side of the line. If you could launch a cube into the neutral tower on the other side, that would be OK. Who knows, maybe the rules will get adjusted, but that is what they say at the moment.

1 Like

I believe that is a violation of G3. The intent was obviously to prevent any tampering with the other side of the field during autonomous.

It’s not very well defined when a cube is on the opposite side. The robot isn’t in violation until it touches the tiles on the opposite side, why would a cube be any different. If it’s possessed by the robot, is it not on either side? Schrodinger’s cube perhaps?

1 Like

From what i can tell, it would be legal, but you are playing with fire, because if their auton tried to use that tower, then you would be violating rule SG7 which states:

Use Cubes to play the game. Cubes may not be used to accomplish actions that would be otherwise illegal if they were attempted by Robot mechanisms. Examples include (but are not limited to):
• Encroaching upon an opponent’s Protected Zone per .
• Interfering with an opponent’s Autonomous Period per .

Therefore, you would be fine, as long as their auton was not affected by your robot’s actions.

1 Like

I can roll with that, maybe the cube has to be touching the ground, idk. But this has given me another idea, a catapult that Kobe’s cubes into towers. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Push/through all (except a few) of your cubes on the opponents side to mess up their autonomous and then score the remaining cubes.

Would this be legal?

no. the point of the rule is to prevent autonomous programs from interfering.

just don’t try to do anything on the other side of the line.