Unofficial Response to Tie?

“It was the quarterfinals in our tournament and we won our match 26 to 24 and there was a star that was not in the field and the ref decided to count it as far zone in the blue which meant we tied and our next match after the tie we had our other robot go in and we won but the ref disqualified us because we didn’t put the same robots from that match in is it our fault for not knowing or there’s for not telling us and should that match even have been a tie?”

There should never be a star not on the field. Any game object that leaves the field should be returned to the field in the zone that it last touched the field. Therefore, the ref must have felt that it left the field after making contact with your opponent’s far zone and considered it scored as such. And therefore, it should have been a tie.

As far as the dis-qualification goes, here is the rule from the game manual:
<T03> During matches, two teams from an alliance will play on the field. Any team which sits out the first match in an elimination series, must play in the second match, with no exceptions. In the third and any subsequent matches, any two of the three teams may play. Prior to each Elimination Match, the Alliance Captain must let the referee know which two teams will be playing in the upcoming match.

Bold is my emphasis. So you did follow the rule there and should not have been dis-qualified.