V5 Brain "bad port" question

Newbie here, with what might be a couple of simple questions, but not simple to us…

TO START: I have a V5 brain that can’t seem to make up it’s mind whether or not the smart port is dead or not. We’re a young, inexperienced middle school crew that has build the current “Hero” robot published by VEX, which is supposed to run on the pre-installed clawbot code.

As built, there is an arm-lift motor that connects to port #3 on the brain. When we finished the build, we tested everything, with the following results:

1. Everything worked, but the lift arm motor would not stop when the control buttons (the two in front of the left joystick) were released. We had to turn the brain off to get the motor to stop pulling. This happened both when raising and lowering the arm. This happened every time we tried to test that motor.

2. After three or four repetitions of this, the arm lift stopped working. When I checked the motor, the LED in the port was blinking very slowly - one quick flash about every second or so. I looked that up online, and it seems that this is the signal that the motor is getting power, but no commands from the brain - general consensus seems to be that this means that the port has burned out.

3. Later that evening, I decided to test everything else (and to just play around with the robot), and lo and behold, it was working again - albeit with the same “sticking” problem. I decided to swap the ports between the arm and the accumulator (claw, on the clawbot) to try to figure out if the problem was in the controller, the brain, or possibly the motor - and suddenly everything worked exactly as it was supposed to, just on different control buttons. No more “sticking”, everything worked - for about five minutes, then that port #3 went out again. There have been a couple more times where it has worked, very briefly, then started that slow blink again.

TWO QUESTIONS: