VCS Coding Bugs

Hello, engineering teacher here trying to figure out how to teach students to use the new VCS C++ programming language. I have very little background in programming, but in talking with coworkers who are CS majors, it seems like there are a few bugs:

1. Printing a percent symbol (%) does not work like expected. The VCS Command Reference site has the following sample code:

Brain.Screen.printAt(1, 20, “Battery Capacity: %d%%”, Brain.Battery.capacity());

But I had to use four % symbols in a row to get it to print to the brain screen. So my code looked like:

Brain.Screen.printAt(1, 20, “Battery Capacity: %d%%%%”, Brain.Battery.capacity());

Next, and probably the more important one, I realized that you don’t need to write out the full hierarchy for the different classes/functions (sorry, don’t know correct terminology) for most lines of code. For example, you can write:

LeftMotor.spin(directionType::fwd, 50, velocityUnits::pct);

or…

LeftMotor.spin(fwd, 50, pct);

Both worked. The second might be easier to teach students, but unfortunately you can’t always delete that first part with the double colon after it. I noticed it doesn’t work with:

task::sleep(1000); //so you can’t just write “sleep(1000);”

or

Sonar1.distance(distanceUnits::mm) //can’t remove “distanceUnits::”

Thoughts? Any other “bugs” you’ve noticed?

In future, wrap your code in triple backtics (```) or [code] … [/code] tags to get code formatting.

This doesn’t really seem like a bug, just a result of how scope resolution works in c++. If you really want to get around this you can use #define preprocessor statements at the top of your program, e.g.:

#define sleep(n) task::sleep(n)
#define mm distanceUnits::mm 

etc.

1 Like