VCS pressed button

Hi all!
I am new to programming and I am wondering if in VCS you can make a motor turn on and off at the press of a button. what I mean is if you press L1, one time and release it, could you make it stay on until you hit the button again? any and all help will be greatly appreciated!

Team 373A

1 Like

I’m not exactly sure how to do it with a single button, but last year my team did that with our flywheel with two buttons as shown. Btw, our teams programmer had zero experience so I’m unsure how good it is. Hopefully this helps. image

1 Like

start with this.

http://help.vexcodingstudio.com/#cpp/namespacevex/classvex_1_1controller_1_1button/pressing

There are also numerous topics discussing how to do this.

1 Like

okay, that makes sense thank you all sooo much!

I don’t have time to write the code right now, but I would probably do something like:

if (button pressed & motor off){
Turn motor on
Wait until button is unpressed
}
Else if(button pressed & motor on) {
Turn motor off
Wait until button is unpressed
}

All in a while loop

Tara,
Would this be betrer than what the other people told me? It seems difderent.

It is different than what the others shared. What you originally asked was press a button to turn the motor on, then press it again to turn it off. What @jpearman shared was one button for on, and a different one for off. What I shared would accomplish what you originally asked.

You’d want to use something like this to accomplish the wait the code below would have the code wait until the button is unpressed. Use “false” instead of “true” for waiting until unpressed.

while (controller1.buttonL1.pressing==true){}

Okay, that makes sense, thank you!

1 Like

The code below should do what you are trying to do. Basically, it sets a variable to 0 and 1, and then sets the motor to spin or not based on whether a is 0 or 1. Sorry about the messy indenting. Good luck! :smile:

//set an integer to allow for switching
int a;
a = 0;
while(1) {