Vertical Expansion 2" Limit

Does the 2" diameter rule, as stated in , talk about the placement of the extensions or the diameter of the extensions added up?

For example, let’s say I have 2 shafts, in which the diameter of both add up to less than the 2" diameter, but they are spaced apart more than 2". Are those 2 shafts still legal?

No, they would not be legal, because the total extension cannot fit within a 2" diameter cylinder.

If you look in the game manual <SG5> covers this rule and I would focus on c

Vertical expansion is limited. Robots may expand vertically within the following conditions:
a. The Robot must not be contacting the gray field tiles in either Low Goal.
b. No part of the Robot may exceed an overall height of 24”. This height limit is a “virtual ceiling,” meaning that no part of any Robot may ever exceed 24” above the foam tiles, regardless of Robot orientation.

c. Any extensions or combinations of extensions above 18” must fit within a vertical cylinder 2” in

d. There are no vertical expansion limits during the Endgame.
e. Robots may not contact the High Goal, Discs which are Scored in the High Goal, or the horizontal supporting structures directly underneath the High Goal. This rule applies at all times, regardless of Alliance / High Goal color.