Vex Ball's

During Autonomous mode, can the Vex ball’s that you have placed on the robot be past the 18 by 18 by 18 inch limit. If this is stated in the Vex rules please tell me what page this rule is on.

Balls can indeed be placed outside the size limit because they are not part of your robot.

(Not an official reply, so correct me if I’m wrong)

As far as I know Jackets STEAM Team is correct. The balls do not count as part of your 18" cube.

Yes this is correct.

I can see why this might be confusing:

The thing that differentiates balls from the robot is that they don’t have to be part of the robot when it is inspected, so they can be said to have not passed inspection, so they aren’t part of the robot according to the definition. It’s not really stated explicitly in the manual that the robot doesn’t need to be holding its preloads when it is inspected, but based on context, precedent and the intent of the rule this is definitely the case.

The balls can be out of the 18 by 18 by 18 limit only if they are touching your robot in any way