Vex button control not working?

So basically I started coding my robot, (C++, VCS) and then downloaded it onto my robot. The tank control worked fine, but the buttons ( L1 and R1) when pressed, wouldn’t do anything. I was wondering why. Below is a picture of my code. Thanks for any help!

Vex Code Snip 1.PNG

Where are all the vex:: parts? Have you locally redefined all those things that had been defined elsewhere? Most likely you haven’t, and the program doesn’t know where to find things like velocityUnits::pct. Try vex::velocityUnits::pct, for example. You have a whole bunch of those to fix.

It’s all in robot-config.h

So you’re saying if we include robot-config.h, then we don’t have to worry about the vex namespace?

If you are using Vex C++ or blocks. With C++ Pro you are on your own. For example, I dragged out a controller and one motor in robot config, this is the header that is generated.

using namespace vex;
vex::brain Brain;
vex::motor Motor1 (vex::PORT1, vex::gearSetting::ratio18_1,false);
vex::controller Controller1;

In Vex C++ and blocks you have no access to that file, it’s auto generated.

Ah, I see now. Not being able to see into robot-config.h in Vex C++ hides “using namespace vex;”. And I would guess with the restrictions in place in Vex C++, that’s far less likely to be a problem than “using namespace” might otherwise be.

So, since “using namespace vex;” is included, ignore my first post. Those parts aren’t a problem. I’m not seeing what’s wrong with the code, though. @7517j , have you tried it with just the code you sent? Was the tank control part removed to post that part? There could be something between the two, like the while loop ending after tank control and before the button presses. Have you double-checked the port for the motor to make sure it matches where the code things it is?

That’s great, but does anyone know why the code is wrong? Like do I have to add something, or is it something else?