[Vex C++]: Pressing a Button to Reverse Drive

Vex C++
VCS Version: 20180820.10.20
VEXox Version: Don’t have it on me so not sure but I updated it yesterday so it should be up-to-date.

So I’m a relatively low-skilled programmer and if it wasn’t just telling a button to make something spin or telling something to spin for so many milliseconds then I don’t know what I’m doing. Only really used integers and voids and callbacks one year with a programming instructor in Middle School and I don’t remember what I was doing.
Anyways, I’d like to learn how to make a function that basically just reverses my drive motors when I toggle it to make it easier driving because my robot has intake and shooter on one side and cap-flipper on the other which sounds pretty simple. I’ve been trying to figure it out but I’m unskilled. I was hoping to use something similar to program my flywheel and I already typed that all out but compilation failures so I come to the lords of VEX for insight. Thank you. I’m just using a modified sample drive program if that information is needed.

Here is some code that I haven’t tested at all. Regardless, it is more like psuedocode than code.

The first set of if statements contains code for toggling the “reverse direction” button. As soon as you let go of the button, Button A in this case, it will toggle the boolean “drivetrainReversed.” Then, the second set of if statements will make the y speed negative depending on the boolean “drivetrainReversed.” Notice that I don’t reverse the rotation direction, because even when the robot is driving backwards, clockwise is clockwise and counterclockwise is counterclockwise.

To adapt this code to your robot:
• Change “ControllerName” to your controller object’s name, e.g. “Controller1”
• Change the motor names (e.g. “myDriveMotor1” to the actual drive motor names on your robot)
• Make sure you know how the motors need to be reversed and whatnot for the drivetrain

bool reverseBtnPressed = false;