VEX Camp

Hi. I apologize if this is in the wrong place. I have a meeting soon about helping out with VEX camp. What kinds of things I should be asking, as I have very little experience with VEX. Thanks

2 Likes

I have helped out with hosting a number of VEX IQ camps, and here are a few of my tips (for an in-person camp). These tips are based on how we ran the camp, so some of them may not be applicable to you. Feel free to pick and choose accordingly:

I apologize that some of these tips seem more like commands than tips. Please treat them all as only suggestions, no obligation.

1. Organize a venue months in advance. Venues are hard to book on short notice. If it is during COVID, you might want your venue outside in a gazebo or something.
  2. Don’t have too many kids at the camp. I wouldn’t suggest more than 24 kids per camp (and one “counselor” for every 4-ish kids).
  3. Don’t have too many kids to a robot. We have found that two kids per robot/kit is a good number, and independent kids (or kids who don’t work well with others) will sometimes get their own kit.
  4. Make the camp short. Despite what it might seem like, I have learned from experience that 6-8 hour VEX IQ camps do not go well, as the kids get burnt out. There are some other reasons too, but that is the main one. I have found that 3-5 hour camps work well. 6 hours is pushing it in my opinion.