Vex Compatible

This forum has been newly created to discuss 3rd party Vex products, as well as misc products which will integrate and function within the Vex Robotics Design System.

Will the Microsoft Robotics Studio be compatible with the Vex controller or the other way around really? http://msdn.microsoft.com/robotics/

Currently Microsoft is talking with Innovation First, Inc. about bringing the Vex product line into their Robotics Studio. We’ll post more information when we have it.

JV

Excellent! Thanks.

I am new to Robotics. Is the studio and animation tool?

Thank you

It will be a development environment for robotics…sort of like easyC…hopefully much better and easier to use. You can download a CTP…but it has no GUI…you need C# to use it now. When they release the final product it will hav a nice GUI.

Hi,

I notice the original post (and reply from Vex) is kind of old. I just purchased the starter kit and am wondering myself if the hardware is/will be compatible with the Microsoft Robotics Studio. This is a Christmas gift for my son, but I am a software developer and eager to check this out and do some of the programming for his designs. Any info is great.

Thanks!

DarkNite

:slight_smile:

I haven’t heard anything about it being compatible since, but you can use a C programming enviroment as well as a graphical enviroment to program it. Either way, big thumbs up on buying your kid this for christmas.

You’ll probaly get sucked in as well. At least its cheaper then cars. :slight_smile:

As you can see previously, there has been some reference to Microsoft Robotics Studio, but as one who has some experience with Cross Compilers, the Microsoft Robotics Studio will need to generate PIC Assembler Instructions and Link with or include PIC Libraries. Some “tight integration” will be required to get this to work correctly…