VEX Flashlights relevant?

Will the standard VEX flashlight ever be useful for competition? Also, is it powerful enough to blind the V5 Vision sensor?

The VEX Flashlight cannot be used at competitions.

My interpretation was that flashlights could be used, just not in such a way which might interfere with the V5 Vision Sensor

As an inspector, I would’ve read that rule to disallow any flashlights.

Sounds like a good Q&A question to clean up any confusion.

It says could interfere, not would or intended to.

The only way to avoid edge cases of unintended interference is to have a blanket rule not open to interpretation.

But still, an official Q&A determination may be warranted.

would it be illegal to have flashlight shells without any wires to connect to a power source? for example, if a team has a damaged pair of flashlights, could they take the wires off and just use the bodies of the lights as decoration? without wires to attach to the cortex they wouldnt be capable of turning on and/or causing interferance

The VEX flashlight is legal for functional purposes… although I think RECF might have been trying to ban it due to fears it could interfere with vision sensors, they only banned it when used as a non-functional decoration. My reading is as follows:

R8 refers to decorations. The VEX flashlight is listed on the VEX website as an official VEX EDR component… right above the potentiometer and right below the light sensor. This means that it may be used as a functional device, and should not be included in R8. If a student was using the VEX flashlight – say to help align the robot with a target – it would clearly not be a non-functional decoration.

I’m pretty sure that’s not what RECF intended, but it IS what they have said… there is a bit of confusion because R5 which says that official EDR components are legal does say “Unless otherwise specifically noted within these rules”