Vex IQ Crossover - scoring question. Hexball on the "fence"

At a recent league event, if a hexball was knocked out of the fence, but fell off the playing field, the referees would add the ball onto the fence itself, not onto the field. Is that the correct process? i.e. if when knocking down a ball from the fence, the ball falls outside of the field, the ball is placed back onto the fence - therefore it is not counted as a scoring ball.

Here’s what the rule states:

Thus, if a referee can’t determine which side of the field is closest to the point of exit, placing the Hexball back on the Fence would be acceptable.