VEX Robotics Impact on STEM Education

Recently, I had a conversation with a colleague who expressed doubt about the positive impact of robotics programs such as VEX on STEM education.

Here is a published study that sheds some light on the subject. The article should be of interest to team mentors/coaches/leaders/…

http://engineering.jhu.edu/ceo/include/ASEE_VEXRoboticsCompetition_Hendricks_Alemdar_Ogletree.pdf

I apologize if the article has been cited here before, I did a quick search but could not find a reference to it here.

Though i am a student, i’m curious, yet still a bit confused by the subject and research. Though i’ll admit, I only skimmed through and looked at charts.

When reading the charts, i was expecting something negative towards robotics programs. Especially since you’ve posted about a doubtful colleague, didn’t mention end result, and posted in a place where nearly everyone supports the vex program.

Looking at the charts though, i have to admit a few things surprised me. More females were interested in the program than guys. Especially with the stereotype how engineering is filled with males. Of course i heard that more girls are going into the field, but to outnumber them is interesting.