VEX Tipping Point Expansion

Hi there,

Can someone clarify this robot size question for me. Our team robot (VRC V5) expand more than 3 ft if expanded both side. At any time during the tournament the robot does not expand more than 3 ft. The rule book says the following “Robots may expand, but no horizontal dimension can exceed 36” (914.4 mm) at any point during the Match”.

So can the robot be more than 3 ft when expanded both side (outside the field), but never expand more than 3 ft at any time during the game (we do not activate both side at the same time to allow more than 3 ft size limit). Are we okay with this?

Read this relevant thread:

It should answer your question.


Thank you very much. Yes, that is the case with our team too. We have a 4 bar in the front and lift bar in the back, and when both extended it exceed 36 inches, but it never happen during the match the robot is within the 36 inch limit. That helps! thank you.

1 Like

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.