We have all heard of the wall bot and all the nuanced detailed regarding the rules about them. Our bot extends, and it can cover almost completely the outer edge of the safe zone; however, once it extends, it has little to no mobility, and it cannot retract. What would happen if we are pushed into the scoring zone and can’t get out?! Would we be disqualified even though it isn’t our fault?
I should quote the rule but you can’t force an opponent to violate a rule so you wouldn’t be disqualified.
you would probably be disqualified if your opponents pushed you into the protected zone in order to score, because that would in fact be your fault. you’re forcing them to do that. but if they could get around you, and they decide to push you in, that’s on them.
This yet again highlights a problem with the rule about forcing an opponent into a violation. In this case, if you are forcing them to force you to break a rule, who is to blame?
The understanding I have always had is: Yes, you can’t be forced into a violation, however once you are then it is up to you to get out of the violation. For example, a blue robot pushed into the red’s inner protected zone is not in violation, unless they make no attempt ( are unable due their own fault. i.e. robot design) to remove themselves from the violation. In other words, if you can’t remove yourself from the violation, be very careful about putting yourself in that situation.
If you are defensive bot and you place yourself along the outside of the opposing alliance’s protected zone and there is absolutely no way into the protected zone without pushing you in that’s a violation on the defensive bot, as they are forcing the offensive robot into a violation.
While it is technically true you didn’t “force” them into a violation because you didn’t force them to push you in and technically they could still play the game by using towers, most referees would rule that in favor of the offensive robot, as the rules are heavily inclined towards robots that are actually attempting to play the game.
If the bot in question braces off the wall to avoid being pushed in, is that a violation of the ‘no anchoring’ rule?
No, this is not a violation of this unless you grab the sides, otherwise teams would be in violation if they touched 2 field walls while stacking in a corner
This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.