A ref at one of my February tournaments made auton count as a tie, even though we lost. For some reason, they said that that morning they had received a notice about a rule change, and it said that the alliance platforms only counted as 1 point in auton. I brought it up to the EP, but a few matches afterwards so that they wouldn’t change the score.
At the same tournament, a different (inexperienced and rude-tempered) ref gave us a ‘strong verbal warning’ for pushing another robot with our own. We weren’t trapping or pinning, but the ref severely misunderstood the rules. I talked to him, and he lectured me about no bugging the refs (what else was I supposed to do?). I then talked to a parent from our team (coach was gone), and the two of us talked to the EP. The ref was asked to apologize, and he didn’t do much more refereeing for the rest of the day.
At our home tournament, we got second place and our enemies bot was short enough that we could climb on them. We got stuck & they DQed us, I attempted to fight it but first, he said it was pinning, then match affecting. The end match result was 23-10 ( we won ). A couple of weeks later we discussed it with another ref & he said that it was the wrong call.
So last year my team and i competed in China at Robocom for In the Zone. In one of our matches another team got 2 cones stuck in their robot since they couldn’t remove them the refs stopped the match, took the offending robot off the field and then started the match up again afterwards.
I believe @Andrew_Jesus has a video of the situation if i am not mistaken.
our schools events are always pretty student run, we have competent student refs, and the rest of the event is run by volunteers that may or may not know anything about vex. its weird when all the refs and inspectors come hang out in our pit with us when not working lol.
In the dome at SS Worlds, our opponents knocked us over, so my team brought it to the head ref. He said the tipping had to be intentional and egregious. We pulled out the rulebook to show him it had to be either intentional or egregious, so he changed his story and said egregious actually just meant intentional. We then showed him the part of the rule book where egregious was defined as match affecting, so he changed his story again and said the different parts of the rulebook had to be considered independently, and since egregious was not defined in all 4 sections of the manual, it only meant match affecting in the 1 section it was defined in. He then told us we were being disrespectful.
And then a few matches later, the same team was DQed for almost tipping over 185A, even though there was no rule against their action because 185A never actually tipped.