What do people use Modkit for?

I’m curious how many people use Modkit for their VexIQ programming, rather than RobotC? Any estimates?

I’d also be interested to know what people think the limits of Modkit are? Or, what’s the most complicated project you’ve successfully implemented using Modkit?

I’m just getting started, but I’m finding that - even though it looks like a fairly powerful language - my Modkit programs rarely work the way expect them to the first time, and that considerable debugging is required to make even simple things work. Do people have the same experience with RobotC?

Is there a site that offers tips for successful Modkit-Vex programming somewhere?

Thanks,

Tom

For students that are used to Scratch, Modkit makes a lot of sense very quickly. It’s really good for simple programs but it is very easy for students to get confused with very complicated programs - the main issue being that they often end up starting many parallel threads in programs by using the broadcast command, forgetting that the other threads may still be running. Once you understand the logic of it, it really is quite good. It addresses key loop structures and Booleans which is essential for the UK curriculum. We have done some excellent sessions for robot movement, line tracking, object sorting and lots more.

For me, there are still some fundamental issues which need to be addressed to make it as useful as RobotC for the classroom such as the ability to rename components, save and open files locally (initially we didn’t think this would be an issue but it is really hard for students to share programs with each other and for us to share example of programs with students) and copy and paste. It’s close, but still feels very unfinished (which it is!) compared with RobotC.