Why do VEX instructions focus on a single student building the project and not multiple individuals

This is more of a general question! Why does VEX focus on creating builds that are for a single individual. I would love to see future builds that allow students to assemble side a and side b and combine the two. As a STEM instructor, I use this process when building certain structures. It allows more students to remain actively engaged. If anything, VEX could create a list of which sets of instructions can be built separately by other students and then combined at a given stage.

The same works with VEX STEM classes. This way of thinking could be used in their STEM classes. I plan on re-writing some of the simpler instructions so that a partner can build and not sit there collecting dust.

2 Likes

I’m going to take it you are talking about building one of the Hero Bots, this year is Fling.

You can do round robin A pulls the parts out for B, B builds, C pulls the parts out for A, a builds, B pulls the parts out for C, etc.

For Fling Roboteers A and B build 1-20 while C & D build 21 - 51 and then A & B build 52-94. You can divide even more if you want. I mostly do round robin for 1-20 to make sure everyone knows how to build and then do the split (21-51) / (52-94) as an example. Once you get past that the robot is mostly one piece, so it’s back to round robin.

On the STEM classes the split is a good idea. You might want to send your updates and ideas back to @tfriez (VP for Educational Technology) and @jmckenna (Education Strategy) at VEX to see if they want to include that in their large STEM offering.

Welcome to the Forum!

3 Likes