Why is our robot turning left and right continuously during auton using the inertial sensor?

Hello, im trying to code auton for my robot using v5 blocks. When I have my robot turn 55 degrees, it overturns and tries to correct itself making it go in a loop of turning left and right until auton ends. Its really annoying and we need to finish our auton.

1 Like

What type of code are you using? Can you post the code? If not, can you describe how it works?

1 Like

Ensure that you have the motor to wheel gear ratios correct. It’s actually backwards of what is technically correct. For instance, a 24 tooth gear/sprocket on a motor with a 12 tooth on the wheel is a 1:2 ratio (one turn of the motor equates to two turns of the wheel); however, blocks has a backwards convention issue, where they want you to put in the ratio of teeth (2 teeth on the motor for every one tooth on the wheel).

This very issue impacted my oldest until it got reversed, at which time it largely went away (other than having a turn velocity too high which overshot).

@jpearman This is such a fundamental input issue that really needs clarified in setup of drivetrains in all forms of Vex coding products. Please consider having a tooltip at least that describes what the user needs to input, or even maybe consider a dropdown to allow the users to select which gears are in use, or even no gears (direct drive).

I might be wrong here, but wouldn’t that be a 2:1 ratio? I’m pretty sure it’s inputGear:outputGear. At least that’s what this site claims

Edit: Upon further research, the site linked above seems to contradict what the vex knowledge base article says. So I’m just wondering, which one is correct?
https://kb.vex.com/hc/en-us/articles/360035590932-Using-Gear-Ratios-with-the-V5-Motor