Wondering what now?

Hello every body. I’m brand new to VEX. Our school asked me to teach a STEM class and I decided to use the V5 bundle. Is going well but I am at the point where I need to order more parts. My school started me with the super bundle (lucky me). Just wanted to try and include different builds and for my students to have different options. Could someone give me advice and what I should order. Thanks.

1 Like

Welcome to the forum!
If you can afford it, aluminum is better than steel. Get a lot of c-channels of all types, spacers, shafts, screws, nuts, and other things like that

6 Likes

Thank you. At the moment, this class has created a lot of buzz. Now a lot of students are wanting to take the class. So they are asking me to put an order together. I want to get as much as they would let me. I will definitely put that on my list. thank you.

It might be good to get an initial budget to know how much u can spend, then start trying to buy metal and parts based on demand

1 Like

If you need to add additional robots to your program, I would recommend going with one of the V5 kits. Below is an analysis I did of the V5 kit bundles. There is a spreadsheet with all the part and pricing information available in the VEX World Coaches Association on Facebook, which I recommend you join.
(https://www.facebook.com/groups/281101222239202/)

Here is my analysis (from the standpoint of a mentor/purchaser for an established program with 80 students).

• There are no pretty much no “useless parts” (like the clawbot claw or bearing rivets) in any of the kits, unless you hate the V5 claw
• The classroom kits have steel structure, the competition kits have aluminum structure
• If you want the new V5 claw, you can’t get the competition super kit (the other 3 have the V5 claw)
• The V5 system bundle doesn’t have much discount, so don’t feel bad about buying V5 stuff a-la-carte. The kits provide nice discounts on the extra parts they contain.