[ X-Drive] Finding position on field using encoders

Hi everyone, this is my first post on the forum, so feel free to tell me I’ve done something wrong or put my post in the wrong place.

My team wants to have an auto-aiming launcher for NbN. To do this, I believe (correct me if I’m wrong) it is easiest to make the field a grid, with X and Y coordinates.

Our robot will have a gyroscope, and motor encoders on each wheel. We can add sensors if required

I want to find and update my coordinates based on my encoders, possibly using the gyroscope (if needed)

The problem is that I have no idea how to do this. Starting tips and suggestions would be awesome :smiley:

I have searched around a bit and haven’t found any threads related to this. If there are some that I haven’t discovered, please post a link to the and I will check them out :slight_smile:

Thanks, DarkMatterMatt

p.s. I am a beginning coder, with a basic understanding of the language, so please speak English :stuck_out_tongue:

There we go! Sweet. Now, lets get started.

Here is a thread that is not only really cool, but also exactly what you are talking about. Unfortunately, they don’t seem to have put up their code, and I don’t quite feel like putting up anything my team has made yet, but I can run you through the basic concept of it.

First, lets start from the bottom and figure out what our velocity is, X and Y. With an X drive it could be a tad bit tricky, but all you really need to do is average the motion vectors of all of the wheels, as per this diagram.

Now if you are not familiar with vectors, here is the first site that popped up on google. They are basically ways to depict motion and force through more than one dimension.