X-holonomic question

Hi,
I have never done an x-holonomic to test it before, but I’ve tried a few things and I couldn’t really figure this out. How much less power would a x-holonomic have compared to your standard tank drive? For example, if a tank drive could carry 10 lbs. then how much could a holonomic carry? I’m pretty certain it is a bit less considering the angle the wheels are mounted at and that they fight each other to a certain degree.
I know it varies with ratios and such so for the purposes of this question let us assume that the tank drive is four 393s set to speed direct dring four omnis, and the holonomic is perfectly built, also with four 393s set to speed direct driving four omnis.
Not sure how well I worded that…

Here is a helpful post from AURA.

http://www.aura.org.nz/archives/1137

Well power wouldn’t change.
This really gets into the math behind it
https://vexforum.com/t/shifting-x-drive/21600/1
but think of an x drive as a 1.41:1 gear ratio so .7 times the torque of a tank drive.

I’ll link you to an article over at AURA’s website, which is very informative about differences in torque/speed of an X drive.

http://www.aura.org.nz/archives/1137

The main idea is that an X drive is faster than a tank drive (sqrt2 times as fast) whereas a tank drive has more torque than an X drive. (sqrt2 times as much torque).

I think having an X drive on 4 inch omnis with speed motors would be pushing it unless your robot is very light, as that is essentially equivalent to a:

1.6 * sqrt2 = 2.263

1:2.263 ratio on tank drive, which is REALLY fast and doesn’t have much torque, and would probably be likely to overheat. If I was going to make an X drive with 4 inch omni wheels I would personally keep the motors on torque.

EDIT: Oops, looks like I got ninja’d by SweetMochi on the article…