Advice for an Unwanted Situation

Hello, my name is Cole. I’m a sophomore at a high school in which I compete with in VEX. I would like to know if any other people have been in this situation and would like any advice at all whether it be how you got around it or if it’s just telling me to stop complaining and be grateful for what I have. So this year I was a one man team, it was my first year building and I was very uninspired throughout the year till the end. I completely scrapped my robot in the last days of January and completely restarted and rebuilt in 3 days to prepare for a competition on February 2nd my second last chance to qualify for State. (which I didn’t qualify at, got BO1’d cause teammate alliance plugged in a completely dead battery and it was too much for my untested robot to 1v2 in knockouts. I just barely missed World qualifying at State because of bad choices of mine regarding skills and stuff almost completely out of my control with a robot I worked on for a little over a month.

I mention all this to provide context for my situation at my school. Just barely missing Worlds I realize what I can create and be with enough effort and time so when I lost at State I made my goal to spend as much time as possible to make a good, competitive bot. I want to bring my school and robotics organization recognition and prestige to improve our club and if possible put my state Alabama on the map for VEX. Ambitious I know but if I try my hardest maybe I can achieve it.

I want to start designing my new robot immediately after the reveal of the game for this season and work as much as possible over the summer building it then use the school and competition time to perfect the robot. I believe that method would grant me the best chance to make a competitive robot potentially in the world scene. I’m sick of being mediocre.