Answered: Bonus Tray Structure

This is a translated question being posted on behalf of a VEX EP in China.

Will the Bonus Tray include S1(the two beams attached to the floor)? If yes, the Bonus Tray shows in those two pictures should not be considered as Released. So the robots should not touch the rings as per G16: *Robots are not allowed to removed Rings from the Bonus Tray when it is not Released. *Is it correct?

If a robot has a special structure that can catch all rings in Bonus Tray right after its Release before all rings touch the floor. Is that ok?

e9a4bf48226c7578521a1e701c31c11e.jpg

3a1c42bae7565412ea248da46bad8d4f.png

The August 17th manual update included a revision to the definition of Released, quoted here for reference:

The Bonus Tray is Released when both Latches have been activated and its Rings have begun moving towards the field due only to gravity (i.e. not due to contact with a Robot mechanism).

As such, the Bonus Tray in both pictures would now be considered Released, and Robots are free to remove Rings from it at will.

If a robot has a special structure that can catch all rings in Bonus Tray right after its Release before all rings touch the floor. Is that ok?

Yes, this is legal, provided that the Rings have begun descending to the Floor as the result of a Release (i.e. both Latches have been triggered).