Answered: Placebo Robot at Worlds

I am curious about the rules for the Placebo Robot at Worlds. I think that it is supposed to be used by a team with a robot that is no loner functioning. Can it also be used to replace a team that is a no-show? If the other team does not show, but you have two extra drivers, can they drive with you with the Placebo? Perhaps this should be added to the rule book next year, and also make it an option for other tournaments.

We are eliminating the Placebo robot at VEX Worlds this year for both the VEX IQ Challenge and the VEX Robotics Competition. Data from the last few years suggests a less than .4% usage. IF a team doesn’t show, then you are driving solo.