I’ve searched the forum, but haven’t found a similar scenario to this.
I have a team that has a ramp on the back of their robot for “goal insurance” so in case it doesn’t go in the top goal, it can roll in the bottom goal. Sometimes the ball gets a stuck if the target is still unswitched.
We know there is a rule that a robot cannot push a ball directly into the goal, and that the robot must release the ball before it is fully in the goal.
The team designed a pneumatic device that can quickly punch the ball to get it to go through the goal/switch the target. In their current scenario, the pneumatic is still touching the ball when the ball is part way through the goal, but it is retracted before the ball is completely through it. The punching device does not cross any goal lines.
Is this legal? Thank you for your help!