Beyond the 19" height limit while hanging

According to page 12 of the game manual: “The intent of testing compliance with this rule during inspection is to reduce the need for judgment calls during a Match. The 19” height restriction is not a “virtual ceiling”; for example, it is legal for a portion of the Robot to extend beyond the T-shaped VEX IQ markers while Hanging, so long as it never momentarily extends beyond 19” along the way. If a Head Referee is unsure of a Robot’s compliance with this rule, they may request a field-side height check for the configuration that was seen momentarily during the Match.”

So, if I build a robot that collects all balls into a bucket, then does a hanging on the high bar to raise itself, then extends its arm (beyond the 19" height) to dunk all the balls into the basket. Does it violate the rule?

No, this rule measures the height of the robot, not the height of the bottoms of the field up 19 inches

4 Likes