Breaking out of PID loop

First of all I know there’s a bunch of forum posts and resources on PID loops, but I wasn’t able to find a solution to my problem nor could I solve this problem after many days of trying…so sorry in advance. This is my first time programming a PID so any help would be great.

I am having trouble with calling another function in autonomous after using the PID loop for my drive. Is there a way to turn off and on the PID loop or isolate it into a function that only performs when called. I tried isolating the PID loop in a separate function and while loop but I am still unable to call it again as if it is stuck in the first function.

////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
//
//    AUTONOMOUS FUNCTIONS
//

double kP = 0.2;
double kD = 0.1;

int error;
int totalError = 0;
int prevError = 0;
int drivePower;
int derivative;

bool enableDrivePID = true;

void resetDriveSensors(){
  EncoderA.setPosition(0, degrees);
}

void drivePID(int desiredValue){

resetDriveSensors();

while(enableDrivePID){

error = EncoderA.position(degrees) - desiredValue;
    totalError += error;
    derivative = error - prevError;

drivePower = (kP * error) + (kD * derivative);

LFrontDrive.spin(reverse, drivePower, pct);
    LBackDrive.spin(reverse, drivePower, pct);
    RFrontDrive.spin(reverse, drivePower, pct);
    RBackDrive.spin(reverse, drivePower, pct);

prevError = error;
    vex::task::sleep(20);
  }

}

void driveStop()
{
  LFrontDrive.stop();
  LBackDrive.stop();
  RFrontDrive.stop();
  RBackDrive.stop();
}

int displayEncoder()
{
  while(1){
    Brain.Screen.setCursor(3, 20);
    Brain.Screen.print("%f", EncoderA.position(degrees)); 
  }

return 1;
}

//
//
//
//
//    AUTONOMOUS
//
//
//
//

void autonomous(void) {
  vexcodeInit();
  vex::task displayEncoderCall(displayEncoder);
  drivePID(400);
  wait(1, sec);
  drivePID(200);
  vex::task::sleep(20);
}