Pogo Stick Robot?

This is just from one of those ideas you get late at night, but what if you had a robot that was a pogo stick?

Elastics making the spring, wheels to make attitude control, and an intake in the pogo stick base.

You’d intake a ball, go up to the goal, bounce up, then fling the ball in.

Please give me a reason why I shouldn’t build this.

2 Likes

Try <G1>
COMMON SENSE ALWAYS APPLIES

No, but seriously, if you built this, and I was a referee, I would DQ you and then hand you the Amaze Award.

2 Likes

DQed on what grounds? Safety I could almost see, but this really doesn’t violate any rules, or even go against the spirit of any of the rules. There’s really no reason to DQ a robot like this unless it looks dangerous.

I don’t think it’d be possible to launch a robot that far into the air with elastics.

1 Like

And then when it’s time to high elevate, you simply leap into the air and come down on top of your alliance partner. Friction welds rule! Awesome!

I love crazy ideas. Go for it! (But first let’s see those energy equations. You can start with Work = Force x Distance = Weight x Height.)

1 Like

Optamist:
it would have to be ridiculously light and be able to go high enough to be worth it (be able to drop a ball into a 36 inch goal).

Pessamist:
this means it has to jump at least 18 inches, then stability in the air comes into play.

have you ever dropped your robot from 18 inches in the air… bad things happen.

wont you still have to throw the ball after in the air because you cant pass the plane of the high goal (knocking you off balance in the air).

That being said, i would still love to see this robot built! just because it defies all logic! Sounds like an Inspector Gadget (vex team) project.

Please build it!

good luck

Self balancing jumping robot

Parrots jumping sumo bot

2 Likes

I have one of those sumo bots. They are pretty cool! Surprisingly light and easy to drive too.