In the rulebook it states that in the round of autonomous skills challenge, the second ball “may” be placed in the starting zone 2 (one closest to pick up zone). Does the “may” suggest that its optional? Can we directly feed the ball into the robot like a rapid load in the start of the autonomous match?
You can get better answers, and faster answers if you submit an official q&a which can be done here: Q&A: VEX IQ Robotics Competition 2024-2025: Rapid Relay : Robot Events
From my understanding and from what I’v done in official autonomous runs, you must start with a preload. An additional optional ball can be placed in the starting zone closest to the goals, or just not placed. We start with a preload and then roll the ball into the intake.
Just look at the manual
Robot Skills Field setup. The Field is set up the same as a Teamwork Challenge Match (i.e., per ), with the following modifications:
- In addition to the Preload, Teams may place a second Ball anywhere in Starting Zone 1 (i.e., the one closest to the Pickup Zone) to begin the Match.
- Robots must begin in Starting Zone 2 (i.e., the one closest to the Loading Station).
Significant Q&A’s:
- 2109 - The 2nd Ball does not have to be pre-placed
Maybe this answer will clarify your doubts.
Needed some clarification on auton skills. If the optional 2nd ball is not placed in starting zone at the beginning of auton skills, can that ball be used for rapid load? So after the 1st ball is scored, can 2 balls be rapid loaded if robot is capable of holding 2 balls?
No clarification is needed, in fact, all these doubts have already been clarified in the questions and answers section of the season, it is a matter of entering said page, I recommend it, you will learn a lot.