Recommendations for an air compressor

Hi, I was looking at purchasing an air compressor for use with the pneumatics system, but I’m not really sure what I should get. Does anyone have a recommendation for this?

Bicycle pump - seriously best and most portable solution.

Bring a noisy air compressor to competition, you will annoy a lot of people.

Added benefit, it helps develop upper body strength.

12 Likes

+1 for bicycle pump.
Works just fine, and chances are, someone on your team has one already. It only takes a few seconds to get 2 tanks up to 100 psi, faster than most portable air compressors I’ve seen.

4 Likes

Ryobi battery powered portable handheld compressors are pretty commonly used. They pump up really fast and are small and easy to trasnport.

16 Likes

+1 for this. As a referee I was able to watch teams inflate their system at the field and confirm the PSI on the display. It worked pretty quick and I don’t think the team had to charge it during our event.

8 Likes

Do you have a link for this? I found a couple different models, but I’m not sure which one it is.

This is the one we have:

Though it does appear that there are some newer models with digital gauges that might be worth getting instead.

6 Likes

I found the digital model here. The reviews are mixed but mostly positive. It is returnable until Jan 31, so I will try this one out. It seems like I will have to purchase the battery separately though.

Our team uses a bike pump and it works well. Its nice that its quiet.

Note: The only downside is I am the only one able to pump it up to full pressure (100 psi) because my teammates are not heavy enough.

Just make sure you somebody weighs a bit over 100 lbs to pump it

5 Likes

hmmm. why is it you can get mechanical advantage with a level, but that does not work with pumps (general, not specific to bike pumps)… Maybe a different style pump can get you quiet and 100 psi :slight_smile:

1 Like

We use this compressor.