unofficial:Can you INTENTIONALLY make contact with field elements during ..Matches?

GoDsKiD posted a question to the official forum. There is confusion in the question between the “robot” and the “driver”. The rules talk about what the driver is not allowed to touch, and the question asks if the robot is allowed to touch those things.

The driver(s) can’t touch anything during the match.

The robots can.

I think another related area of confusion for some comes from <G11>:

<G11> Robots may not grasp, grapple, or attach to any Field Elements. Strategies with mechanisms that react against multiple sides of a Field Element in an effort to latch onto said Field Element are prohibited. The intent of this rule is to prevent teams from both unintentionally damaging the field, and from anchoring themselves to the field. Minor violations of this rule that do not affect the match will result in a warning. Score Affecting offenses will result in a Disqualification. Teams that receive multiple warnings may also receive a Disqualification at the Head Referee’s discretion.

The only modification to your answer that may be necessary is:

The robots can, as long as they’re not grasping, grappling or attaching to any Field Elements.