V5 Motor wiring

I would like to prototype some things using the V5 motors, but don’t have enough V5 control systems. Is there a way to run a V5 motor using a 0-12 volt power supply, an IQ controller, a controller with 12 volt PWM or something else?

No, there is no simple way to do this.

I would think you could do it with any embedded EVM/etc… with I2C and a power supply?

Has Vex released the I2C command Set?

I have no experience or information about I2c commands, but just googled it and Raspberry pi can do I2C.
That would be a great workaround until Vex fills the pipe line.

V5 does not use I2C, it’s RS485.

485 = much better…, sorry had my mind stuck on cortex and IQ

Either way, it’s doable, actually not that hard for someone skilled in the trade. The command set is quite simple, though proprietary, which primarily means it could change any time (the brain can update the motor firmware, completely changing the protocol if it needs to).
Great exercise nonetheless, if you want to learn, ping me and I can provide some guidance.
Of course nothing of that would be competition legal, but the goal is to learn, grow, isn’t it?

Thanks for your comments, they sound right. I’m not trying to steal Vex’s secrets, i just wanted to prototype some claw, arm and ball toss ideas but lack V5 controllers. Eventually they will be readily available. Designing something beyond following a diagram to use a Pi is beyond my resources.
If there is something that could trouble shoot motor failures, maybe someone will follow that.

Just out of curiosity-
What is the application layer on top of RS485? Is it completely proprietary or using SSI with nanoUDP? How is the address for each sensor derived - some kind of DHCP? I presume that only brain us acting as a master and that it is not duplex?