Whats Worlds Like?

Hello!

As you all know, I’m pretty new to VEX. I recently have qualified for the Worlds Tournament from the Texas Region 3 Regional Tournament this weekend.
As it’s my first time going to worlds, I’d like to hear what everyone with experience has to say about the experience of going to worlds.
What’s it like?
How big of a difference is it from regionals?

Thanks a lot guys.

14 Likes

I’m sure you will get lots of replies to this, but I’m going to derail for just a few lines.

Please don’t start dozens and dozens of new threads asking what worlds is like. Pile into this one.

Please don’t ask about the new game. We will ALL find out the last day of the VRC events and the last day of the VEXIQ events. Not before. Just wait. There are also dozens of threads about what the 2022-23 game will be, please don’t start another one.

Worlds is amazing.

#1 Don’t sit in your pit on your phone. There are teams from all over the US and from all over the world. Get a light colored shirt and a dark perm marker. Get a team from every country/state to sign your shirt.

#2 Worlds, while it’s about winning it isn’t about winning. It’s about the experience, the people you meet the things you see and do. Make the most of that experience. Organize pickup games on the practice fields.

#3 Make a button that says “I’m xxxx on the Vexforum”. Here is your chance to meet a forum person and maybe there are people looking for you. Make it easy for them to find you.

#4 Talk to teams about their designs their builds. Nobody is going to duplicate a robot in two days, teams will show off what they’ve done. For lots and lots of teams this is their last worlds, they are seniors. Here is your chance to learn from (or teach someone) their cool tricks.

#5 Have fun, remember, across the entire program (VRC, VIQ, VEXU, drones), only 11 teams will be World Champions. Odds are in your favor to not be one of them. Don’t ruin your experience by having a win or die expectation.