Here is a video of a nbn robot with an x-drive climbing a ramp. It takes a bit, and the angle is smaller than the tipping point ones are, but it works.
2021 - 2022 VEX Robotics Competition - Tipping Point
That rap was also no slip instead of plexi. Much easier to climb.
No, it shouldn’t make much of a difference. Omni wheels have enough traction for that.
But if anything, an x-drive would be better than a standard tank drive, because Omnis have more traction than normal wheels
(Granted most teams use omnis on tank drives anyway so this is kind of moot)
If you have an extra motor to use a brake would not be a bad idea tbh.
So anyone who was thinking of jamming a mogo or ring under the platform, looks like you won’t be able to do that now if I interpret this correctly.
yup totally a thing with our HS teams to do. Q&A revealed this to be an issue.
Keep up the clever analysis! Totally enjoying it!
Well, with the new manual update it looks like it’s legal until the endgame period (last 30 seconds of the match). So until then, it’s totally legal to do so. Still waiting on the response for this QNA, although with the new manual update I bet it’ll be answered soon.
If you did it before the endgame, and it’s still sitting there. You will be dq’ed if it’s match affecting. This goes with rule G3. Apply common sense.
Example: If your bot was there when there were 31 seconds left, and then the clock hit 30. You’re still touching it.
Yeah, I knew that when writing my post. I was referring to doing it AND removing it before the endgame period, which might be advantageous if your opponent plans on balancing the bridge early with a mogo (like what was showcased in the 1st NZ Scrimmage).
If you were to load up an alliance mogo such that tilting the tree caused a donut to fall off, would placing this mogo on the opponent’s balanced platform before the last 30 seconds violate SG3?
Since SG6 states that these donuts are safe, if the opponent were to tilt the platform to park, donuts would fall off and could potentially be match affecting if the score was very close.
You don’t need to wait for the game manual update to get an answer on this, as the question is simply an RTM question. Unless, you can cite a rule that prohibits this action, then it is legal.
Applying common sense says that the referees are not going to be responsible to keep track of how a game object happened to get under a platform sometime in the game. You could accidentally knock a game object under your own platform yourself. According to the rule, just don’t do it in the last 30 seconds. That is the only thing a referee could be expected to look out for.
I just realized how harshly that came off (my bad). What I mean is, if you’re intentionally dumbing rings or mogos onto the platform so as to block them. They’ll notice(that’s how I interpret it).
Well, that actually would be a perfectly legal, but a little bit strange, game strategy up until the last 30 seconds. But I think there’s probably better use of your time then dumping field elements into your opponents area.
Additionally, since game elements getting in the way under the platform, regardless of how they get there, is part of the game, most competitive teams would have some way to easily remove random objects so they can do what they need to do. If game objects were not supposed to accidentally get in the way, then there would have been field elements designed with guarding to prevent it, for example the center platform of NBN had guards to prevent balls from going under the platform, and the IQ game with a tilting platform also had a guard to keep game elements out from under the platform. The current game has no guards therefore random elements in the way becomes part of the game.
NBN had no center platform - you mean Turning Point?
Right! After a dozen years, it starts getting harder to remember all the games!
In many ways NBN is the one worthy of forgetting
o lol i didnt see the plastic on the edge of the platform
I think you are incorrect here - as depositing a mobile goal under the platform in order to accomplish the task of circumventing <SG3> is expressly mentioned in section c as a violation of <SG10>
c. Per <SG10>, using a Scoring Object to cause interference with the opposing Alliance’s Platform during the last thirty (30) seconds would be considered a violation of this rule.
So if at start of driver control I go deposit a mobile goal under the platform and it is still there during the last 30 seconds preventing the platform from becoming balanced, it is an automatic DQ.
and I also disagree with the statement:
Applying common sense says that the referees are not going to be responsible to keep track of how a game object happened to get under a platform sometime in the game.
We have certified referees to officiate tournaments to assure rules are followed.
Given there seems to be a disagreement as to whether a mobile goal placed under the platform before the 30 second period, I think this would be worthy of a Q&A to see if this in an infraction or not in light of <SG10>.