Answered: 5 Point Zone Defensive Actions

In the future, please quote the relevant rule from the manual in your question, per the Q&A guidelines. SG5 is quoted below for reference:

Next, please see the following Q&A posts and the Q&A Summary to better understand how defensive interactions in the 5 Point Zone should be handled. (SG10, G12, and G13 are quoted in these posts, for reference):

Now, these questions mostly ask about SG10, not descoring Cones (SG5), but the principle is largely the same. In general, the only time an offensive robot would be at fault when attempting to score in their own offensive zone is if they were clearly acting solely in the interest of “drawing a penalty” (G13).

Additionally, SG5 is clear that any intentional or accidental, direct or indirect action that removes an opponent’s Cones would be considered a violation. Teams are advised to be cautious when attempting purely defensive strategies such as the one you are describing.

So, yes, this hypothetical interaction would likely be considered a violation of SG5 by the red alliance. If it was Match Affecting, then a DQ would be issued.