Fastest Car using v5

Im new to vex materials and just joined a school club

were having a tournament for fastest car… any tips?

Constraints are: 3-4 wheels and 2 motors
No turning just speed

what constraints do you have?
limited number of motors? limited parts? size limit? weight limit?

what exactly does your car need to be able to do? is it a straight line race, with no turning needed? does it need to complete some sort of obstacle course that does involve turning?

3 Likes

3-4 wheels and 2 motors and i believe its a straight shot for speed

Does it need to be able to turn?

1 Like

Welcome to the forums :smiley:

What type of motors? I am going to guess V5 as it is in the v5 section but as you are new to forums i think it would be best to ask.

1 Like

Also, do you need to use vex equipment? Directly wiring together DC motors would be lighter

1 Like

yes its v5 motors we will be using

Does it need to turn, or just go straight?

1 Like

he edited the original post with that answer

2 Likes

By fastest I’m assuming its a drag race? If so, its all about having a balance between how quickly you can accelerate, and what your top speed is, or in other words, how high a ratio you should gear the motors up.

4 Likes

Also, you want to be as light as possible, and if possible use 3 wheels

1 Like

in that case, your best route would probably be some sort of dragster.

having a single powered wheel, and two unpowered wheels (like a tricycle), will offer you the simplest straight line vehicle. With two motors your speed won’t be insane, but you can get pretty fast. gearing your motor up so your wheel spins at a very high rpm will be your best method of speed increase, but if you gear it too high, you might have issues with the car stalling or having unbearably slow acceleration.