Field Centric X Drive Coding HELP!

Hi, thanks for stopping by this post. I need help with some coding for an field centric X Drive as I have been working for hours with no luck. I am using the starting location of the gyro and comparing the value to new values, but I can’t get it to not drive the robot when it’s rotated. I understand that adding the gyro value to x,z inputs will automatically drive it, but I don’t know how to separate it. If you have a better method and/better way of doing this. Feel free to post below. Thanks for your help!

please don’t ask for help with code without posting the code you need help with.

I was asking for how to do the code, like post an example. I’m trying to do trig, but I’m new to coding. I was wondering if you guys had code to compare it to.

The code is non existent as I keep changing it trying to find the solution.

Ok, lets assume that you use one joystick to drive your robot, where Forward/Backward direction is mapped to Y and Left/Right - to X, and you already figured out how to use X and Y to control X Drive motors in robot-centric frame.

To get to the field-centric frame, first, you need to convert X and Y inputs into power magnitude P = sqrt(XX+YY) and angle theta = atan2(y,x).

Then you add (or subtract) your Gyro reading from theta and convert the power levels into robot-centric X2 and Y2 using Pcos(theta2) and Psin(theta2).

If you just doing it to learn how this works, the above code should be enough, however, if you need to depend on this to play 2v2 games, you will need to add a lot of the code to ensure that you handle Gyro drift and could reset it (using line trackers when crossing white lines) after the error gets too large.

Drift error will grow gradually with time or jump suddenly after robot collides with a wall or another robot.

I wouldn’t recommend field-centric driving controls for a season with heavy defense and frequent robot-to-robot interactions.